APT Research Day 2024


The APT Research Day is our annual event to showcase the Research excellence of fellows and trainees. We encourage presentations in all areas of scholarship, including research, quality improvement, education, and administration. We welcome scholarship that explores and seeks to inform Diversity, Equity and Inclusion. APT Research Day also hosts our annual Dr. Jean Templeton Hugill Memorial Lecture and the Emerging Faculty Invited Lecturer.
This year’s speakers are Dr. Guy Weinberg MD (Dr. Jean Templeton Hugill Memorial Lecturer, Professor, University of Illinois College of Medicine), and Dr. Khaled Abdelrahman PhD (Emerging Faculty Invited Lecturer Assistant Professor, APT UBC).
The event will take place at VGH – DHCC 1020 LT , on May 14th.


Event Date: May 14, 2024

Abstract Submission deadline: March 13, 2024 at 5.00 PM

Confirmed Speakers

Dr. Weinberg completed his fellowship in Medical Genetics at UCSF. He awarded the 2019 Carl Koller Award by the European Society of Regional Anesthesia and Pain Medicine. The Carl Koller Award recognizes outstanding lifetime contributions to the field of Regional Anesthesia and/or Pain Medicine. Dr. Weinberg is a Professor of Anesthesiology whose research interests in the metabolic effects of local anesthetics have been translated into an effective means of treating severe, local anesthetic systemic toxicity.

Dr. Abdelrahman received his PhD in 2015 from the University Calgary where he studied the molecular basis underlying altered cerebrovascular function in type 2 diabetes. He then joined the Departments of Cellular & Molecular Medicine and Neuroscience at the University of Ottawa to explore novel G protein-coupled receptor (GPCR) candidates that can be targeted pharmacologically to slow the progression of Alzheimer’s and Huntington’s’ diseases. 

Organizing Committee

Dr. Donald Griesdale
On behalf of the Research Day Organizing Committee

Dr. John (Kip) Kramer
On behalf of the Research Day Organizing Committee

Dr. Stephan Schwarz
Dr. Jean Templeton Hugill
Chair in Anesthesia

Dr. Alana Flexman
Vice-Chair EDI UBC Department of APT