UBC City-Wide Anesthesia Residents Journal Club

Purpose: 

  1. To provide a forum for residents to practice developing a systematic approach to research critique including a general appraisal of the merits of a study and evaluation of its applicability to clinical practice.
  2. To encourage journal club attendees to stay up to date with the literature and apply updated knowledge to clinical practice.

Schedule:

UBC Anesthesiology City-Wide Journal Club Schedule 2017-2018

Date Host Theme Resident Presenters
Monday, Sep 25, 2017 RCH Airway

Evan Shao (R4)

Matthew Walker (R3)

Monday, Oct 16, 2017 SPH Periop

Richard Alexander (R4)

Martha Digiuseppe (R3)

Monday, Nov 20, 2017 VGH Neuro

Disha Mehta (R4)

Katarina Kojic (R3)

Monday, Jan 15, 2018 BCWH Obstetric

Christie Addison (R2)

Jordan Hamilton (FPA)

Tuesday, Feb 13, 2018 BCCH Pediatric

Rosie Earle (R2)

Kurt Deschner (FPA)

Monday, Mar 12, 2018 LGH Regional

Alexander Lefebvre (R4)

Douglas Page (FPA)

UBC Anesthesiology City-Wide Journal Club Schedule 2016-2017

Date Hospital Topic Resident Presenters
Monday, Sept 12, 2016 RCH Airway

Alison Read (R5)

Terri Sun (R3)

Tuesday, Oct 25, 2016 SPH Cardiac

Christopher Nixon-Giles (R4)

Marcio Penner (R4)

Tuesday, Nov 22, 2016 VGH Neuro

Hao Chen (R3)

Daniel Mok (R3)

Monday, Jan 16, 2017 BCWH Obstetric

Shannon Lockhart (R3)

Taylor Ross (FPA)

Monday, Feb 13, 2017 BCCH Pediatric

Justen Naidu (R4)

Cory Veldman (FPA)

Tuesday, Mar 14, 2017 LGH Regional

 Hardy Zietsman (R4)

Theresa Lee (FPA)

Monday, April 24, 2017 VGH Critical Care

Kristen Kidson (R2)

Alan Tung (R2)

Organizing Faculty

Director: Dr. Anton Chau (BCWH/SPH)
Assistant Director: Dr. Susan Lee (RCH)

Clinical Lead:
Airway – Dr. Laura Duggan (RCH)
Cardiac – Dr. Bobby Lee (SPH)
Perioperative Medicine – Dr. Ron Ree (SPH)
Neuroanesthesia – Dr. Alana Flexman (VGH)
Thoracic – Dr. Jens Lohser (VGH)
Critical Care – Dr. Don Griesdale (VGH)
Obstetric – Dr. Roanne Preston (BCWH)
Pediatric – Dr. Norbert Froese (BCCH)
Pain -Dr. Michael Negraeff (VGH)
Regional – Drs. Ray Tang(VGH) & Chris Prabhakar (SPH)
Simulation – Dr. John Veall (LGH)

Acknowledgement

Educational support provided by:

  • UBC Department of Anesthesiology, Pharmacology & Therapeutics
  • Academic Hospital Site Host
  • Industry sponsors: AbbVie Corp., Merck & Co.,GE Healthcare